International Board

The organization of Caretakers of the Environment International is the responsibility of an international board of directors consisting of a President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, Director/Communications, Director/Networking, and Editor of Global Forum. The board meets twice a year; during or immediately following the conference, and three to eight months prior to the next conference. The Board is responsible for the following tasks:

  • the management of the organization
  • selecting countries wishing to host a conference
  • advising and supporting the development of the annual conference
  • stimulation of co-operation of teachers and students from various countries by means of:
    • development of the international network
    • the production and distribution of a newsletter
    • encourage the development of joint projects between conferences
  • evaluating the progress of Caretakers of the Environment International and its direction.



International Board of Directors



Elisabeth Jørgensen Brun, Denmark


Fátima Matos Almeida, Portugal

Vice-President and Treasurer


Anne Marie Begg, Scotland



Isabel Abrams, USA

Co-Founder, Director of Communications

Dan Hoynacki, USA

Resources & Development


Ilse Prenn, Austria

Conference Host 2018


Ali (Chou-Li) Lin, Taiwan

Global Forum Editor in Chief


Antoni Salamon, Poland

Website Host


Stien J. Makatupan, Indonesia

Asia Conference Coordinator
Incoming conference Co-Host

Nurten Selda Mersinlioglu, Turkey

Conference Host 2019

David Lloyd, Israel

Information Technology Advisor



Khaira Fitmi, Indonesia

Incoming Conference Co-Host



Active Educator Advisors to the Board


Kenneth Ochoa, Colombia


Scott Sim, Japan


Tony(Wing Kin) Leung, Hong Kong


Thomas Wong, Hong Kong, China


Karin Warlin, Sweden


Ilse Prenn, Austria


Nurten Selda Mersinlioglu, Turkey


Marina Konopleva, Russia




Emeritus Founding Board Members


Arjen E.J. Wals, Netherlands


Edward C. Radatz, USA




Past Presidents


Andrew Cox, Ireland


Birgitta Nordén, Sweden




Emeritus Board Officers


Joke Wals, Netherlands

Corresponding Secretary


Contact Us

Sponsor a Global
Movement to Do Good